Leadership Bootcamp

Late last year, I heard about a Leadership program that would pioneer in 2019. Earlier in the year, my application for a similar program with the same institution had been turned down so I was quite apprehensive about it. While the prospect of finally getting to publish my own book was thrilling, I couldn’t get past the prior rejection so I let it pass. The more I chose to ignore it, the more I heard about it and I knew it was something I would enjoy doing only if I could get past the anger I felt because of the rejection. On the last application date, I sent in my application expecting to be turned down again but surprisingly, I was accepted.

On the induction day, I heard about what the course would entail and I remember wondering if I was cut out for that stuff. I heard about the financial investment required and I knew that would definitely be a struggle. I was working at a place with a crazy schedule and given the amount of time this demanded I knew this would be a major stretch yet I was willing to go for it! The desire to publish my first book was greater than any setback I would have to encounter and for that one reason, I was willing to push myself against all odds.

Through the year, I have read amazing books; books that have changed my mind and opened me up to a world of amazing possibilities. My best course book still remains ‘Church Shift’ by Sunday Adelaja and the second best was ‘Communicating for a Change’ by Andy Stanley. As expected, my favorite part of the course was writing my book and publishing two blogs every month. I love writing and as such this was the easiest assignment to do. The hardest nut to crack was the Bible-in-a-year reading. I began, fell along the way, gave it two more attempts and eventually gave up. It is the one assignment I gave up on.

Having been out of employment for 21 months, exhausted my savings and barely making ends meet; my most impactful class was on Financial Stewardship. This class reignited my hope for financial freedom and helped me to set off on a journey towards rebuilding a savings portfolio to replace the previous one. 5 months later, I am proud of the progress I have made. Further, I enrolled for a Financial Masterclass through which I have read several books on finances and I have well advanced on my journey towards financial freedom. I have began a rice business which is growing well.

This journey has not been without its fare share of challenges. The relational energy that I and the other students have had to invest in the program is worth mentioning. While most of the work is done individually, we had group assignments and discussion questions plus accountability that had to be done within the groups. Time spent in the classes, doing assignments, travelling to Yatta and Kampala and practicing what has already been learnt has been draining and stretching in equal measure. Raising funds to cover the costs of the course has also presented its own share of challenges but I am grateful that my fees is fully paid.

Apart from my financial journey, the other aspect that has changed is my view on discipleship. I have learnt that at the core of the discipleship process is relationship. That the most effective way of growing leaders and Kingdom generals is through discipleship. This entails a huge investment in terms of time and relational energy but the results are worthwhile. I have made a commitment to disciple teens during school holidays and young adults that are within my home fellowship. So far, we’ve had 2 sessions with the teens and it is quite fulfilling.

If you would love to be challenged, stretched and grow as a kingdom leader, this would be a great place to start. 

Image Credits: ©Travelling Light

Author: Authentic Conversations

My aspiration is to live the best way possible, to reach out to as many people as possible and to be all I can be for Christ.

Leave a comment